Mountain Buzz banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
so I dont really want to beat a dead horse... or do I...?

I'm going down the Grand in January and looking for some advice. I'll be kayaking a hardshell and I'm wondering about the advantages of drysuits vs. bibs, then also which suit is right for me. I've been eyeing up the Kokatat GMER for a few years now, but wondering if I should save a few bucks and get a NRS or Palm suit of reasonable quality, or just a new pair of bibs and deal with the drytop I have now.

any advice from experienced boaters is appreciated.

thanks!

·
Registered
2,113 Posts
Do a search and you'll turn up a number of discussions on the subject. General consensus from what I've seen is GMER is the best, Palm Stikine a close second. If they cost too much for your budget go for the Palm Torrent.

·
Registered
795 Posts
My advice.....absolutely have a full drysuit! I just got off the Grand last Friday and we had decent weather almost everyday (mid 60's). But the sun was hard to come by this late in the year....we seemed to be continuously "chasing" the beams of sunlight around every corner. I was rowing and I still got a little chilly in my Palm drysuit. The water is cold and the sun is sparse when you get deep. I remember thinking how friggen cold I'd be if I was in my yak.....even with decent temps.

I have a Kokatat drytop and I would have a Kokatat drysuit if I hadn't received my Palm for free (won it at an event). I do LOVE my Palm, but I don't think the quality is as bomber as Kokatat (when I compare my drytop to drysuit).

My .02

·
Registered
3,107 Posts