Mountain Buzz banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
619 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am dying to get in the water but nothing is runnin, so tomorrow (Sunday), I just might bite the bullet and go to Confluence. Is Union better at these flows? Anyone want to test the waters?:???:

·
Registered
610 Posts
I am dying to get in the water but nothing is runnin, so tomorrow (Sunday), I just might bite the bullet and go to Confluence. Is Union better at these flows? Anyone want to test the waters?:???:
I'm a beginner but I'm jonesing to get out also. What time did you have in mind?

·
Registered
652 Posts
I think Union is way better than Confluence, if Union is really at 500.

And neither is really appropriate for a beginner at 500. But, the advantage of confluence is that it's a safe place to swim if you are wearing a helmet.

Union is a bit squirly and a guy died there last year by probably getting snagged on something underwater. But, his being a swimmer not wearing a life vest was probably a major contributing factor.

Confluence is a great place for a beginner at 100 cfs.

·
Registered
3,107 Posts
I've never been to union as low as it is now (275), but I'd expect the play to be minimal with probably only the 1st feature having a small hole. Probably a one hit mini-surf at current flows.

Confluence is a bit better at current flows (500ish). You can surf 3-4 of the waves in the park now. Confluence has the fast eddies which are good early season practice too. Most of the features below the park are not in right now except the feature below the suspension bridge a couple hundred yards downstream from the park.

Neither is great, but it beats sitting on the couch, and I've been down a few times to start getting the arms in shape for paddling season.

Golden is a lot colder, but a lot cleaner, and at 100 cfs might be the leader for low water nothing else to do playparks.

·
Registered
610 Posts
Deepsouth,