Mountain Buzz banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
River Mark
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Thinking about running Brown's Canyon on the Ark this sunday but not sure of my ability at water that high. I have lots of experience and have good gear, but I have not rowed it above 2K and do not want to swim as a senior citizen. Any thoughts?

·
Registered
323 Posts
I rowed it this weekend, and there were quite a few other people on oars as well. It certainly is faster and a bit more push at this flow, but most of the features are read-and-hit-them-straight. Zoom Flume is down the middle with nothing left of the hole at the bottom. Just watch the lateral at top right. Pinball is still the most technical. It was a good time, and I didn't find it all that much more difficult than it usually is. A swim could go for aways though.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Safe line is RR at canyon doors and again pretty far right to avoid the hole at big drop...it wants to suck you left for sure! Saw an oar boat go topsy turvy there Saturday.
The hydraulics through pinball still are technical but I keep right and it's fine tuning from there. Lots of big waves especially the bottom of zoom after you clear pinnacle (although zoom at this flow is surprisingly forgiving) surprised by a giant swell at the 7th stair...paddle hard, tee up for the meat and prepare to swim just in case :) it's a quick run at this level too...only an hour twenty from fish to hecla but what a fun ride!!
Let us know how it goes for ya!

Sent from my iPhone using Mountain Buzz

·
Registered
1,523 Posts
If you are concerned about your ability to safely swim a long distance, I suggest waiting until the water comes down. Shit happens and swims go a long ways during high water.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Don't know how big and heavy your boat is but I am sure if you read the river capably you can skirt anything you don't want the marrow of...
My wife and I ran our 11'4" tub yesterday and loved it.