Mountain Buzz banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I was able to talk the wife into letting me use my Covid check on a boat. NRS had a 12ft Star Outlaw with a damaged box for a nice deal. (Had I did it again. I would have got a 14ft, but that's for another post.)
Of course I couldnt stop at just a paddle boat so I found a local metals warehouse and bought some 1.25. I mixed cheap fittings from grainger with some from nrs for stability. Also picked up a kick bar setup from 4corners. Went with 8" nrs towers, plus 9 ft Carlisle Oars w/ cutthroat blades. Put together a cheap hatch cover (future table.)
So I'm a total boating novice. I'm in central KY and dont know anyone with raft. Just did it once when I was younger and always said I'd get a boat. I'd welcome any comments and suggestions.

Attachments

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
I took it down a local river for an overnighter. Had a buddy go along it was a good time. Learned some quick lessons. Sent back the 8" towers for 10" immediately. Much better now. Also I used pressure treated wood for the table, I'm going to remake it with lighter plywood for sale of weight savings. I've also started some side boards for beside the cooler. (If you notice, shhh, dont tell the wife!) Going to sand them and paint them with some acrylic deck paint. Also picked up a rapid rung for ease of entry for wife and kids. I went with Stitches N Stuff for the drop bag. And picked up a K20 pump for easier on river air ups.
After the overnighter with the SNS drop bag I was so impressed with the build I decided to change my original plans for my cargo area. More on that later. I'll post more pics when I finish the boards.

Attachments

·
Registered
3,130 Posts
That's super well thought out for a first build, you've done your research.

Welcome!

The Rockcastle River from Livingston put in and took out at Rockcastle Riverside campgrounds.