Mountain Buzz banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Looking for opinions – I’m a second year beginner (didn’t do much last season) and I’m wondering about boat size. Lots of the beginners I see start with big boats, like the Jackson Hero. I have a Jackson Fun. I’m told the difference is that with the Fun, I’ll learn better boat control and have more maneuverability. However, with the larger boats – I’ll be more stable and have fewer swims….

What are the pros/cons for beginners with boat size?

·
Registered
2,113 Posts
I've said it before, I just don't remember where. I think if you're more aggressive, have strong aspirations for advancing in this sport and, less likely get freaked out over a swim or a jab from a rock, then the "Jackson Fun" aka the river running/playboat is the way to start out. If you just want to spend some time with friends, be out on the river, are worried about spending time upside down, and might throw in the towel over a scary experience, then go with the big volume river runner boat.

The advantages/disadvantages of the experience is what you said. Playboat should offer a quicker learning curve as you'll be forced to react more to the river. The bigger volume river runner will be more forgiving - kind of like having training wheels.

·
Super Moderator
4,836 Posts
I started out learning in a playboat, and it was a little rough the first two seasons at high water, but it helped me become a better boater. I eventually got a bigger boat for high water and more difficult runs, but I am glad I learned to run the river in a playboat (LL Vision56). The Fun is a great boat to learn in, just work on your roll more, that way you don't worry so much about a swim:)

·
Registered
501 Posts
be a hero

Sheryl,