Mountain Buzz banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm fairly new to boating and am looking for suggestions on a good boat to start out with for a smaller (5'4") person. I've just about got the roll down in flat water, but not on the river. I want something that is good for river-running but is also playful and easy to roll...something that I can 'grow' into, but is not too aggressive. I have been looking at the Dagger Outlaw, but I am not sure if there is anything else out there that might be better. Any suggestions?

·
Registered
1,080 Posts
Starter kayak

The shape of the Outlaw is perfect for starting. The size of the boat may be wrong for your size frame. Think about the Showdown insted. Other boats to check out would include the Wavesport EZ, Dagger GT 7.5 or G-Ride 6.2, Perception Blaze (smallest size), Pyrahna Inazone 222 or I-3 221, or small Riot Booster.

The things you should look for in a beginner style kayak. 1) a flat bottom (it's a must- don't fall into the old school trap.), 2) overhanging side walls, and 3) a convex top deck.

·
Registered
9 Posts
smaller boat

Also look at something like one of the smaller Wavesport Aces or a smaller perception playboat. The Ace was an aggressive boat for its time but now suits smaller beginner playboaters and will take you further

·
Registered
480 Posts
Go out and buy a used Dagger Infrared. They are selling for about $300 right now on the Mountainbuzz gearswap pages. You cannot go wrong with this boat for a beginner.

·
Registered
1,080 Posts
Dagger displacments

DO NOT GO WITH A DAGGER INFRARED!!!!