Mountain Buzz banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey folks,

I'm 6'3, 320lbs and trying to find a ww kayak (I'm tired of rafting!). Any suggestions? Since I'm new to kayaking, I need something that is forgiving and something I can roll easily as not to create a human dam downriver :lol: Thanks

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks Forester. A quick question: If a boat's capacity is for example 240lbs, will my 320lbs cause its hydrodynamics to be screwed up?

·
Registered
20 Posts
Hydrodynamics

The quick answer is yes, you're outside the specs.
But you have to get in the boat to see if you're so far outside the specs that you don't like how the boat reacts.

I'm really short - 26 inch inseam - size 8 feet - I can pretty much paddle a matchbox. But I don't like most really small boats because at 180 lbs the small boats are really really SLOW. I end up pushing a lot of water.

If you find a boat you like, let me know. The guitarist in my band is looking for a boat for the bigger man. He's 6'5" and solid.

I second the vote for trying out a Super EZ btw.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Re: Hydrodynamics

akahn said:
The quick answer is yes, you're outside the specs.
But you have to get in the boat to see if you're so far outside the specs that you don't like how the boat reacts.

I'm really short - 26 inch inseam - size 8 feet - I can pretty much paddle a matchbox. But I don't like most really small boats because at 180 lbs the small boats are really really SLOW. I end up pushing a lot of water.

If you find a boat you like, let me know. The guitarist in my band is looking for a boat for the bigger man. He's 6'5" and solid.

I second the vote for trying out a Super EZ btw.
Thanks akahn, I'll keep you posted. Anyone know anything about Riot Kayaks?

·
Registered
253 Posts