Mountain Buzz banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Rolled through Aztec NM last week and bought a Culebra (Jack's Plastic Welding's answer to the Shredder).

I haven't purchased a pump yet and as I'm new to inflatables (dolls excluded) I'm not sure what size, style, and brand of barrel pump to get.

Basically I want to pump to be large enough to do the job, but small enough to store on this smaller craft.

Does anyone have any recommendations? Carlson, AIRE?

I'm not planning on getting a "top-off" pump (ie EZ pump or K pump) unless it is recommended.

I'm also open to advice on t-grip rafting paddles. Since I intend to check my Culebra on as luggage I'd like to find a break down paddle that is easier to check than the standard 5 foot Carlisle Outfitter paddle.

The only one I can find is the Caviness JP series paddle. I like that it breaks down, but I'm worried it is too cheap and would get destroyed in whitewater.
CavinessPaddles - Caviness® Synthetic Paddles
I hear aquabound makes a breakdown t grip but they are pricey.

Any R2ers have any thoughts? Thanks

Geoff

·
Registered
154 Posts
I have a 13' raft, and I bought the 31" Wild Water Aqua Lung top-off pump. They sell a slightly smaller one, as well. I think these are cheaper than the Carlson or Aire pumps, and every bit as good.

Wild Water Pumps | Our Products

While I generally use a zinger to inflate my raft, I have pumped up the whole deal with just this pump. It takes some time (20 minutes) but isn't too bad. I would think that the Culebra is probably smaller than a 13' raft, and wouldn't take that long to inflate even with just the top off pump. If you are planning on travelling with the Culebra, you will want a pump that is small enough to pack and carry. I think that a full-on barrel pump would be overkill.

·
I'm right 50% of the time
899 Posts
Buy 3 pumps

1: cheap electric pump for air mattresses to blow it up at home