Mountain Buzz banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am still fairly new to river running and am having a hard time getting my roll when my instructor has me all the under by myself - I keep falling out of my boat when I attempt a sweep roll. I think the back band (foam block) is not keeping me in when I brace with my feet. not sure if adding more foam block at the back vs. back band is best.
any suggestions?

·
Registered
86 Posts
hey there, if you have any kind of an instructor at all -he/she should be able to give you the proper advise to get secured in the boat (such as where to glue foam blocks)-if not, you are paying him/her way too much money. remember that the Dancer is probably older than you-it was my 1st boat 20 years ago!!!! (smile) once you get a tight fit, the dancer is probably the easiest boat ever made to roll........cheers

·
Registered
351 Posts
Boy I had a hard time getting out of the Dancer... Those cockpits were tiny. The boat should fit your hips, and with your feet on the pegs your thighs/knees should be snug in the thigh brace area. if your 'falling out' I'm guessing your thighs aren't using the thigh brace area. Try moving the foot pegs up so that you can 'wear' the boat in the thigh brace area. Find some foam and shape it/tape it in place.

·
Registered
524 Posts
I would suggest the dumpster!! I have an RPM you can have that is 10 years newer but still over 10 years old. You will be surpised how much more comfortable and supportive boats have gotten over time. Nothing wrong with vintage gear though if it works for ya!

·
Registered
213 Posts
I would suggest the dumpster!! I have an RPM you can have that is 10 years newer but still over 10 years old. You will be surpised how much more comfortable and supportive boats have gotten over time. Nothing wrong with vintage gear though if it works for ya!
I learned to paddle in a 13.5' open canoe! Technique, technique, technique, will make that thing work :)