Mountain Buzz banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
A friend and I are looking to put in our raft for for some beginner water in the next week or two. I have some whitewater experience but new to rowing. I was thinking the short float from state bridge to two bridges may be good entry level water at this level. Can anyone help with info? Advice?

·
Registered
63 Posts
That's a great choice. The ferry from the state bridge launch into the main flow is probably the hardest part. Class 2 after that. At sub 1k CFS, there's a bit of meandering towards the end and I'm pretty sure the majority of the flow goes left at the questionable areas. Would estimate 2hrs for float time.

·
Registered
104 Posts
At current water levels that’s a good choice, just be careful on any stretches as snow melt starts to increase water levels in the coming weeks and months. It’s a lot longer section, but two bridges to catamount is also a great section to learn to row on.

·
Registered
111 Posts
That's a good beginner float. Agree that ferrying over to the maini current at the put in is probably the hardest move. Worst case scenario you just drag thru a gravel bar. Rancho to state is another good section with maybe a marginal step up in difficulty.

·
Registered
7 Posts
I did this float just recently. The float was super easy and there isn't much that should give you trouble. All of the rapids are basic wave trains, possibly a rock here or there to dodge, overall one of the easiest floats I've done.

It's not bad when the flows are higher but if you feel nervous then now is an excellent time to go, in my opinion, while it's still low and slow in most spots. The gauges have gone up every day over the past few days.

·
Registered
115 Posts
Consider launching at Rancho to get just a few more miles in. Seems like I always see eagles down there and one spring run pretty sure I saw a mink.