Mountain Buzz banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello there

Im visiting from Kentucky and car camping near Salida at the moment. For the past 7 weeks I've been all over the Colorado mountains south of I70 and hiking/biking/boarding/kayaking/camping...
I'd really like to hook up with some other paddlers and float the Arkansas tomorrow or soon, or even every/any day next week. Im fairly new to ww but to give an idea of my experience, i ran the stretch from Stone bridge to Salida twice by myself with no troubles 2 weeks ago and also the incredibly beautiful run from Salida. I would try the section just before the royal gorge if I had others to paddle with. Ive been on class 2 and 3 in Kentucky about 8 times plus over a decade of class 1 Kentucky rivers.
Anyone interested?

·
Registered
995 Posts
I'm pretty sure you're the guy I gave a ride back to Stonebridge last week. Forecast is for a lot of snow over the next 2-3 days, not that that would bother some of the kayakers I know. Didja bring your skis, could be good Sun-Mon?

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Yep, that would be me and many thanks for the ride. You are right about the snow! I woke up cold and had to get a 2nd sleeping bag which did the trick. Maybe waiting a couple days would be best and in the meantime head to Copper. I will probably stick around until midweek if anyone wants hook up and paddle so just let me know a day in advance. Thanks!

·
Premium Member
4,836 Posts
If your skiing today or tomorrow I would suggest Monarch, or better yet Wolf Creek over Copper. I was at Copper yesterday, and while the snow was good it was extremely crowded. Monarch is forecast to get 12-16" in the next 36 hours, Wolf Creek is forecast to get 24"+...

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·