Mountain Buzz banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Y'all!

I just bought a 2006 Puma that works great but could use some touching-up. I was looking at Gaco Flex as a PVC coating, and System 6, but they seem pretty expensive (key point in all this: I'm a grad student and I'm watching my pennies!). Are there other coatings for PVC boats anyone has tried and would recommend? Anything you can get at Home Depot or a marine repair shop that's not too expensive? What about a spray-on urethane/polyurethane (sorry, I'm studying stats and not chemistry) you can get at Home Depot?

Thanks!

·
Registered
1,085 Posts
I did a lot of research last year to coat some Jacks tubes. The bottom line is that the only worth while coatings are the system six and others just like them. Spraying it requires a huge investment in respirator equipment so just apply it with a roller. It will work great AS LONG as you take the time to prep properly.

There is no inexpensive way to do this. Home Depot jobs will look like crap, peel, and won't achieve the abrasion resistance you need. Good luck.

·
Registered
98 Posts
If you're looking for bottom chafe, just glue an entire strip of material on the bottom of the tubes. This will be cheaper... it will surely perform better than anything else on the bottom. Same can be said for frame wear spots. However, extra layers can create edges that shred knuckles, so deburring is a good idea.

AIRE PVC Raft Material at nrs.com

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Interesting alternative?

Has anyone tried TotalBoat for something like this? It seems to get high praise for dinghy but I'm not sure how it would hold-up against the trials of river boating....

·
Registered
164 Posts