Mountain Buzz banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
92 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Folks,

Planning on using a 6 hp Tohatsu 4 stroke on an 18 foot Sotar raft on a VERY long Yukon River trip. New outboard broken in last summer and running great. Got the factory repair manual and am putting together a maintenance parts list to include spare water pump. I have little experience with a small outboards on the silty Yukon and am trying to decide if having adequate spare parts will suffice - or do I need to actually take a spare motor (or have one ready to ship to a village along the way as a replacement). I just have no idea how reliable a water cooled 4 stroke will be in this kind of silty water. I do plan on changing oil and drive shaft fluids during the trip and will have provisions for flushing the water pump system. The raft is outfitted with an excellent rowing set-up, but I believe the motor will be "required" to combat the constant up-river winds for the long trip so I consider the motor very important to complete the trip. Any advise/suggestions would be most appreciated. Thanks.

·
Registered
308 Posts
I have used my 6hp Nissan to push 5 rafts out of The Grand twice. I don't think you will have any problem. How many hrs of running will the motor get? 50 hrs is ok for the oil. Even at 5mph that's a lot of river miles. Unless you use it for a rototiller the silt won't be a problem. The 3gal tank had over a gallon left after 60 miles if that helps.

·
Registered
346 Posts
The silty water won't be a big problem. The extra impeller/water pump is a great idea though..your oil should be good for the entire trip, change it after when you clean/flush the motor.

My best advice is to read the water carefully, even flat water. Gravel/cobbles bars will wreck a prop or lower end. Always pay attention. Sand bars and running in mud will ruin the water pump. Read the river, little glassy areas, upwellings, and breaks in the surface chop will reveal shallow areas.