Death on the Chama - Mountain Buzz

Old 02-17-2019   #1

Pagosa springs, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2004
Death on the Chama

Hello fellow peeps in the whitewater world. Im new to this sight for the most part but I decided I had a story to tell so I joined. My name is Chris.

As the spring approaches, like all of you I start to get excited about river season. I live in SW Colorado, and we are getting hammered with snow, so I KNOW we’ll have a great river season this year. I’m a rafter. I love oars in hand. I too am getting excited about this upcoming season, but with high anxiety.

And so here’s my story. Here’s what happened on the Chama River in New Mexico on May 15, 2018. I’m telling it for many reasons, but mostly so all of you can make sure that what happened on my watch, never happens on yours.

So late last winter, my good friend Chris Phillips called me to tell me he and his girlfriend of 4.5 years were moving back to Pagosa Springs from Seattle. He owned property just a half a mile from me. He and his girl were set to build their dream home, and create a new life in Pagosa. They’d had enough of the city. Well sometime between then and May, I’d made a decision to head back east for the summer to help my brother out with some projects. Chris got to Pagosa around May 1st, and I was set to hit the road around the 18th or so. He was bummed I was gonna be gone for the summer. Knowing this, I suggested that we float the Chama for a few days before I left. He and his girl, Jazzmyn, were all in. They’d never done a river trip before and they were excited. To top it off, I own 2 rafts so they got to learn the ways of the oars as well. And there is no better place to learn than the Chama. At the last moment I invited another friend Eric, and he was ready to go in an instant. So I called and got a mid week launch permit, and it was on. I only 1.5 hours from the put-in so it’s an easy trip to put together quickly. And I love the Chama. Very special place.