Which of these trailers would be best? - Mountain Buzz

Old 4 Weeks Ago   #1

Seattle, Washington
Which of these trailers would be best?

Newbie here looking to buy a 13'-14' raft with fishing frame. I'm doing my research on trailers and I'm debating between a smaller/lighter aluminum trailer vs a heavier larger steel trailer. I'm driving a Toyota Sienna rated to pull 3500lbs, so I don't think the towing capacity is an issue. I will ONLY be using the trailer to haul my boat. I'm leaning toward the aluminum trailer, but I'm concerned that it might be TOO light (I have images of the whole thing blowing over on a windy drive). Is this a valid concern? Is it better to go heavier when it comes to a trailer or is a smaller, more nimble trailer.

Here's what I'm looking at, in either case I will be building a platform to store gear and set the boat on top:

5x8 aluminum flatbed with tilt and 13" wheels
or
5X10 Steel Utility with 14" wheels
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	00H0H_5uoUrcdXBVy_1200x900.jpg
Views:	50
Size:	167.9 KB
ID:	36441   Click image for larger version

Name:	00n0n_4yg6Z1B9iiD_1200x900.jpg
Views:	53
Size:	74.0 KB
ID:	36443  

maux is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 4 Weeks Ago   #2
Never enough free time

Red Lodge, Montana
Paddling Since: 1998
Personally, I like steel as it is easier to modify or repair. Almost anyone can weld steel but aluminum is a different deal. Modifying the aluminum without being able to easily weld on it, means that everything will have to be bolted or screwed in... which will lead to a less robust trailer after you have added the platform. This also means that you will probably end up with a smaller trailer that weighs about the same as the steel one anyway.
MontanaLaz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 4 Weeks Ago   #3

Missoula, Montana
Paddling Since: 1992