What to Buy - Mountain Buzz

Old 04-07-2017   #1

Santa Fe, New Mexico
Paddling Since: 1987
What to Buy

I am a bit torn on what to buy.

I have a lot of experience boating, but I'm interested in other perspecives in looking at getting a new setup. My most frequent trips are the San Juan (most years an extended summer trip, and a short autumn trip), but I have run Cat and Westwater pretty frequently, as well as Lodore, Rogue, Taos Box, etc. I have rented boats on prior Grand trips, and intend to do so for future GC trips.

I'm looking to get a new / good used 16' gear boat set up. I have a lot of experience with hypalon, and urethane boats (SOTAR, Hyside, etc.). I also have experience with bladder boats (AIRE and STAR specifically, but it has been 12 years since I've worked with either).

With my budget, I can get a really solid used setup, but I can also get a pretty decent new rig, and get it mostly outfitted (would possibly need to wait on a new cooler, and dry boxes). It looks like the best value for a new 16' boat is the AIRE DD. I would really like a SOTAR SL, but I don't feel like the extra 2k+ has the value for what I'd be using it for (or the extra 1k for a Hyside Pro).

I initially didn't consider AIRE because dealing with the bladder can be maddening (and it was doing a repair to a Puma a number of years ago), but the 10 year no fault warranty is pretty compelling, particularly for that price.

I will still have my 12' hypalon boat (to be upgraded to a 14' something next season), but I would like my new setup to be able to fully support my family without needing to load gear onto the 12', the 14' SOAR, a ducky, or kayak.

I am not opposed to a cat setup, but it's been years since I've rowed one, and have generally preferred rafts. I'd really love a dory, but that's out of my price range, and it doesn't play well at low water.

Thoughts? Opinions? Feedback?

noneuclidean is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-07-2017   #2