What in the He77 happened to Urethane prices?? - Mountain Buzz

Old 08-28-2013   #1

Great Falls, Montana
Paddling Since: .3
What in the He77 happened to Urethane prices??

Your help in my Urethane coating vs fabric thread has helped me decide to get the coating on my PVC tubes. Iíve been doing some research and found this discussion from 2004.
http://boatertalk.com/forum/RaftZone/677816
That was an entire Round boat for $200. I was recently quoted 1800 for my tubes which are significantly simpler and less surface area.

That is a 900 percent increase!! I canít think of any other product/service that has enjoyed that kind of inflation. Is it due to EPA regs, application difficulties, product supply? Can someone please explain this to me??

ob1coby is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-29-2013   #2

Florence, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2001
Don't know about the specific coating but since 2004, materials have gone up drastically. As a painting contractor, I had a 15% increase one year alone, and a normal year is 3-5%. And those are "everyday" products. I would also be fairly confident this is a much better product, hence the price difference. A newer product also may have a more labor intensive installation. Or the price quoted was for someone starting out who didn't know how to price labor, doing it on the side, etc.
formerflatlander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013   #3

Jenks, Oklahoma
Wait till you have a major medical operation

etc next year. Urethane cost increase is just the beginning.
okieboater is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-29-2013   #4

portland, Oregon
Paddling Since: 1991
Quote:
Originally Posted by okieboater View Post
etc next year. Urethane cost increase is just the beginning.
True. Medical costs keep going up. You try and solve the problems and they say, don't fuck with that, it's 18% of our economy (GDP).