Watercolor painting on long river trips? - Mountain Buzz

Old 05-15-2019   #1

Watercolor painting on long river trips?

I'm curious if anyone paints on the river.

What supplies do you bring?

How do you clean up your brushes etc in a leave no trace way?

Any practical tips?

kayakingkate is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-15-2019   #2

Hampden, Massachusetts
Paddling Since: 1999
I am not a riverside artist.

Pack it in, pack it out. Keep it simple.

Possibly rinse brushes in water or solvent in like a plastic recyclable Gatorade bottle or something. Seal up the bottle and pack it out. dispose the inky water appropriately elsewhere (off the river).
FlyingDutchman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2019   #3

Hampden, Massachusetts
Paddling Since: 1999
Stick the brushes into the bottle and swirl around, or seal and shake if the hole brush and handle fit in. Maybe use like two 32 ounce Gatorade bottles. Like a pre rinse and a final rinse. Pack it out.
FlyingDutchman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-15-2019   #4

Lakewood, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1993
I've never had someone do anything more then use a sketchbook on a trip, but there is plenty to be inspired by down there.