storing tubes for winter / minimal use - Mountain Buzz

Go Back   Mountain Buzz > Whitewater Boating > Whitewater Rafting > Rafting | Gear Talk

Old 12-04-2014   #1

watertown, New York
Paddling Since: 2008
storing tubes for winter / minimal use

so last week I deflated my pontoons, and I laid them in a spare bedroom flat, I do have a 6x13' shed I could store them in juiced down a little, but to me that isn't as good as deflated, and laid nearly flat in a heated room? Is there anything else I should do like wipe the tubes down with 303 ? I'm sorry to keep asking stupid questions guys but I'm new to rafts

steeldrifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-04-2014   #2

Belgrade, Montana
Paddling Since: 1991
303 would be good.

I prefer inflated to deflated though for no real reason... the perceived reason would be less chance for creasing (but that's minimal anyways) and a vague inkling that storing anything in the shape it is to be used is better than some other shape. I'd really think the biggest factor would be how safe from critters, pets, kids with knives, jealous wives, etc. in each location. I think that type of damage is more likely than creasing, distortion, deterioration or any other material related danger.

I've stored my stuff either in a garage or a barn for years and never had any problems but the recent rabbit thread has me wondering a bit and I'm always worried about what stupid decisions my kids will make.
Old 12-04-2014   #3
I'm right 50% of the time

RFV, CO
Paddling Since: 1977
303 it, talc it if you like, roll it tight and stick in an inconspicuous place. I usually tarp over, so do if inclined. Boat storage is easy. If you have room, partially inflated is good. If you don't, roll, tarp, store. Creases are a wives tale. PVC is more brittle cold, so don't drop it from 10 ft to ground if it is -12.
brendodendo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-04-2014   #4

Wheat Ridge, Colorado