Still camera & storage recco - Mountain Buzz

Old 12-09-2013   #1

Niwot, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2005
Still camera & storage recco

I'm a pretty discerning photographer and have been shooting since my first Nikon F & Nikonos way back when. I live in a world of DSLRs but have come realize that rafting is not the best environment do lugging that much metal and glass around. I don't want to have something that big bouncing around even if it's in a pelican.

So - what do people recommend? I've been looking at many mirrorless solutions. I know I want something much more responsive and sensitive than a P&S but was wondering if people have experience with a certain body/camera and what their casing solution was.

Again - I know there are a ton of P&S weather resistant cameras out there - of the 7 I've used I've been unimpressed with their lag time, low light image quality and ability to operate outside of an "auto" setting.

I'll be shooting video with a GoPro but I still want something that can take quality images in available/low light situations.

readNrun is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-09-2013   #2

I love my Sony NEX-5N. It has a full size DSLR sensor, and there are starting to be a great selection of lenses available. It's also very affordable when compared with DSLRs. I think it performs as well as basic to mid range DSLRs for my purposes. Plus it is smaller and easy to take in a kayak/rafting situation. For the price/size I would give it consideration.

Check out the reviews section of Darin Mcquiod's blog for a professional kayak photographer's take on the various NEX models and other cameras/lenses. Darin McQuoid Photography
BrianK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2013   #3

East of the Pine beatle, Colorado
Canon G series- I've used a G10 for years. Great photo quality and design control in a small package.
Osseous is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-10-2013   #4