Seating options - Mountain Buzz

Old 02-27-2017   #1

Wheat Ridge, Colorado
Seating options

So there's this high back tractor seat for sale, but shipping brings it up to about $75.

https://www.surpluscenter.com/Seats/...EAT-1-5062.axd

Buuuut I think I want the low back seat that NRS sells. However I have zero experience rowing on any seat other than the hard plank of wood that wore holes in my waders. So anything is a step up in the world, I'm just trying to make all the right moves the first go round.

Pros/cons of high back vs low back drain hole seats? Personal preferences? I just spent all my monies on a new frame and this is the last thing I gotta buy before I can hit the water (unless I want to strap a board to the frame like the pleb I was).

fishingraft is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-27-2017   #2

., .
The NRS seats are tractor seats sourced from MISCO. NRS's previous generation seats with the metal pan under the cushion and without drain hole was sourced from Michigan Tractor Seats.

Previously, I've been able to source the MISCO low-back tractor seats on eBay & Amazon for less than NRS asks.

Cheers!

PS...I personally don't like the hi-back as a rower. However, they're great for passengers.
riverdoghenry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2017   #3

Central Point, Oregon
Adding a seat to a bay with a cooler or box is going to add a significant height increase and potensially change your rowing geometry. There are other options to adress padding your rump if that is the goal. Using a stack of bags for a back rest is a great option if your on a long trip.

I am not a fan of high back seats as they limit mobility and take away from my pulling strength.
Whitewater Worthy Equip is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-27-2017   #4

Wheat Ridge, Colorado
Quote:
Originally Posted by riverdoghenry View Post