RM Rafts "Booze Cruise" packages? Or create my own...? - Mountain Buzz

Go Back   Mountain Buzz > Whitewater Boating > Whitewater Rafting > Rafting | Gear Talk

Old 02-15-2011   #1
o_O

Denver, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2009
RM Rafts "Booze Cruise" packages? Or create my own...?

Looking to put together a rowing package for my annual trip down the San Juan. This will be my first raft. I can no longer overload my duckie with two coolers and camping gear for a 5 day trip.

Basically my question is: should I just opt for a "Booze Cruise" package by RM Rafts (with the possibility of a frame upgrade) or just a buy a raft+frame+oars+etc+etc separately?

I'm a grad student and thus I am not rich. Saving money is a big priority for me. And like I said, this would only be used at most two weeks a year... so the highest quality gear is not a necessity.

Basically I want the blessing of some veteran rafters before I buy an entire set.

Thanks in advance.

Bayou is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-15-2011   #2

Flagstaff, Arizona
Paddling Since: 93
I just bought a saturn raft from RMrafts. there are a ton of Saturn haters on here so be ready to talked out of it. When the raft came I inspected it very closely. I like it a lot. The floor of the self bailer isn't laced in like others. It has a thick rubber floor and then a drop stitch floor that is glued on in three places. I got it because it is a deal. I will have to buy 4 extra d rings to attach to the boat, for my liking and preference. The boat is heavy, but it is what I need. I live in Northern AZ, and mostly kayak. When I do raft, I guide for several companies. I want to stop borrowing gear and have my own for privates. I already have 3 private trips set up for this year alone.