REC Oar tower height RMR 10.5 or similar - Mountain Buzz

Old 05-17-2016   #1

littleton, Colorado
REC Oar tower height RMR 10.5 or similar

Hello buzzards. Any recommendations on oar tower height for RMR Storm or Hyside minimax?

8 foot oars.

I'm thinking 8 inch, but have seen some rigs that looked like they were using 10s and someone helpful on this forum already recommended the tens to me. Just wanted to get some more opinions since I'm new to this.

Mike

Mike N is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-17-2016   #2

Crested Butte, Colorado
Paddling Since: 82
It somewhat depends on the height of your seat, and the oar length compared to frame width.

You want to be pushing or pulling with your arms at chest height, not too hi and not too low.
for my setup, the top or the oar lock is the same height as the top of my legs.

set it up in the garage and feel it out.
CB Rob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2016   #3

littleton, Colorado
Thanks Rob.

I used to be a competitive rower in single and double sculls. In that situation you want the blade handles going straight into the top of your gut, but that's with a sliding seat and legs doing all the work.

So pulling into my chest (like beginning rowers always want to do, and have to unlearn) is going to feel really wrong. Taller towers might increase the length of re-learning curve.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-17-2016   #4

Crested Butte, Colorado
Paddling Since: 82
Mike, I know what you mean about pulling into the gut. When doing seated rows at the gym, that's where the bar ends up.
On a raft we have to do an equal amount of pushing, and we also need to be able to raise a blade pretty high out of the water when getting worked in a hole or something.

Unless you plan on having a high seat I really doubt you'll need tall towers.
CB Rob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2016   #5

littleton, Colorado