Old Raft - Brass Valves - Help ID'ing - Mountain Buzz

Old 09-20-2010   #1

Norcross, GA, Georgia
Paddling Since: 2010
Old Raft - Brass Valves - Help ID'ing

Hi all -

I just bought a 12' long raft at a garage sale. It is in good shape overall but one of the valve cores(?) is missing. They are all brass construction, but they don't appear to be the military style valves. I could be wrong, as I am totally new to this. Primarily I need help ID'ing this valve and finding a replacement.

Pictures here:
raft valve - a set on Flickr

Some of the seam tapes have also started to come up. I'm not sure of the construction of the raft, I believe it is rubberized nylon. Definitely not PVC, it is a coated fabric of some sort. It is a Taiwan import. What sort of repair kit or glue should I be looking for?

The HIN is NSCF35821279, which, according to the HIN decoder, was made by "Nelson/Weather-Rite", and was built in 1979(!). Is this possible? I floated it down the river yesterday with no problems. (calm water). The only reference I can find to this manufacturer with any detail is a 1992 trade ruling.

NY 871147 - The tariff classification of inflatable boats from Taiwan. - United States International Trade Commision Rulings

Model 1316 describes my boat perfectly, 2 air chambers, 2 brass valves, rubberized nylon 210 denier fabric. I have a much easier time believing it is from the 90s than the 70s...

Thanks for any help you can provide!

ilewis33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-20-2010   #2

Flagstaff, Arizona
Paddling Since: 1991