Oar counterbalance weights - Mountain Buzz

Old 09-15-2018   #1

Oar counterbalance weights

I don't know if this is a stupid question or not since I am new to this but how can you add counterbalance weights to your oars without spending the $90 NRS is asking for counterbalance sleeves. Is there some kind of weight clamp out there that will you can secure around the oar? There must be something. If you can explain it to me like you are talking to somebody who knows nothing that would be appreciated...

ShufflingCrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-16-2018   #2
Sponsoring Vendors

Wheat Ridge, Colorado
Duct taping sand filled ankle weights is a tried and true solution. We recommend using duct tape and then putting electrical tape on top since it has better UV resistance properties.

In a pinch, you could also duct tape a couple of beer cans to each oar
Down River Equipment is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2018   #3

Kalispell, Montana
Paddling Since: 1997
Duct tape and ankle weights isn't pretty, but it's also flexible.

Sawyer and Cataract can't fine-tune the weight for customers, so they go heavy....they're like 4# for each oar. Now you're pushing that much weight with each stroke.

I think a lot of people would benefit from 1-2#. You often need a little counterweight, not a LOT! Also remember you don't need the oar perfectly balanced in the oarlock. When you put your hands on the grips, half the weight of your arm is now "hanging" on the oar (the other half is hanging from your shoulder). If the oar is perfectly balanced, you actually have to pull "up" on the handle to offset the weight of your arm to get the blade in the water.

From Quora.com: "On average, an arm weighs about ~5.3% of your total body weight, depending on your gender, among other factors. A leg is about 17.5%. This means for a 150lb average human being, an arm weighs ~8lb and a leg weighs ~26lb."