Newbie guide to PFDs... - Mountain Buzz

Old 01-21-2015   #1

Gardnerville, Nevada
Newbie guide to PFDs...

I've been fishing, boating, and waterskiing for years. I own several life jackets.

My question is: Is there any major difference in whitewater PFDs? Am I risking life and limb if I'm wearing a standard ski vest vs. a vest made specifically for whitewater rafting?

wilkin250r is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-21-2015   #2

Cave Creek, Arizona
I am no expert, but as long as the vest is rated lll or higher you should be fine. Class V PFD's are more set up for rescue, so if you are running big whitewater you may want to go with one of those. Another thing to think about is comfort. A PFD you use on a motor boat, might not have the same comfort level as one in whitewater. When you are rowing/paddling, you may want more room for arm movement.
InflatableSteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2015   #3

Vail, CO
Paddling Since: 2008
Life Jackets are not rated by "class" they are rated by "type". Ski jackets are not accepted for river use. If it is a permitted river, you run the risk of not being allowed to launch. In other situations, you run the risk of a fine, but most likely a warning from the Ranger.

FYI - Type III is accepted on all rivers. Type V is specialty use and also accepted on all rivers.
Advertisement

Old 01-21-2015   #4

Cave Creek, Arizona
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brotorboat View Post
Life Jackets are not rated by "class" they are rated by "type". Ski jackets are not accepted for river use. If it is a permitted river, you run the risk of not being allowed to launch. In other situations, you run the risk of a fine, but most likely a warning from the Ranger.

FYI - Type III is accepted on all rivers. Type V is specialty use and also accepted on all rivers.
Type is correct. Sorry for screwing that up.
InflatableSteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2015   #5

Belgrade, Montana
Paddling Since: 1991