New Cataraft questions. - Mountain Buzz

Go Back   Mountain Buzz > Whitewater Boating > Whitewater Rafting > Rafting | Gear Talk

Old 12-14-2018   #1

New Cataraft questions.

Hey guys, new to the Buzz. Also a new boater. Did a group trip down the Grand in April-May 2017, and the Rogue this past May. Needless to say I'm hooked! I have been a member on the Buzz for a few months now, looking at pictures and have read a ton of information. Thanks everyone for your posts and previous questions. I live in Truckee, CA so I would be doing some day trips on smaller rivers IE NF American, Carson, Truckee. But plan on multi days on the Rogue, Salmon. Among others I don't know about yet-I'm new to this so I'm trying to start somewhere!

Ill get to the nitty gritty. I purchased a set of NRS Outlaw 14x25 cat tubes. I will be fabricating the frame myself. I have been doing some layout and math now as I'm getting ready for my cooler and drybox purchase. Knowing that these are going to set my width. I'm planning on going with a Canyon Prospector 103, and either an Eddy Out or Frontier Play 36" dry box.

Do you cat guys and gals slip your dryboxes and coolers between your lower frame rails to thus lower cooler and drybox height? The prospector (tallest component) sitting on my upper rails (awesome) would hang about 13.75 below. I plan on doing 9-10 inch drop? That would leave 2-3 inches of cooler hanging below the frame rails. Is that copacetic? Should I do more drop to frame it in?

As far as width. The bottom of the cooler is about 36.75" that will kiss my tubes about center. (widest) Depending on if i put it between the frame rails or on top. My total boat width would be about 90" (slipping cooler between lower rails) or 86.75" (sitting cooler on top of lower rails)

This seems wide for a 14 foot cat? I know this is due to huge tubes. Im making up in buoyancy what I lack in skill.

How wide are your cats? What size tubes and ID does that width include?