Need water shoes - Mountain Buzz

Old 07-07-2016   #1

Harpers Ferry, West Virginia
Paddling Since: 2014
Need water shoes

So I'm a professional raft guide on the Shenandoah and Potomac rivers. This is my third season. I wear size 16 shoes and I'm kind of at my wit's end as far as durable white water footwear goes. I had a pair of size 16 closed toe keenz but they fell apart within 2 months time. I contacted Astral directly to see if they could custom make some in my size but was told no.

Does anybody have any suggestions for durable size 16 water shoes?

Gigantor is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-07-2016   #2

Steamboat, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1999
Might try 5.10 - they go up to a 15 I love my canyoneers and a lot of people like the water tennies.

I am normally 13-15 depending on brand and pretty sure I went with 13 in my boot, would have to look though. Zappos has the 15 and does free returns if they do not work, I feel your pain finding stuff that works.
kayakfreakus is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2016   #3

Denver, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2002
That water is warm...like a bath this time a year. I'd just try to go with sandals, and try not to tear your toenails off. When I was living in Charles Town I always went barefoot. I love the river bottom on the doah, I spent a lot of time walking on it trying to learn the low water lines.
k2andcannoli is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-07-2016   #4

Unfortunately, they've gotta be close toe shoes. It's required by the company for which I work.
Old 07-07-2016   #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by kayakfreakus View Post
Might try 5.10 - they go up to a 15 I love my canyoneers and a lot of people like the water tennies.
Are the canyoneers good for total submersion on the river? How well do they dry?
Old 07-07-2016   #6

Steamboat, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1999
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gigantor View Post