I Beam repair - Mountain Buzz

Old 06-28-2017   #1

Las Cruces, New Mexico
Paddling Since: 2003
I Beam repair

Hi everyone, I have a sotar raft with three I beams that just separated. I have looked into repairs and replacing the floor, and unfortunately both options are prohibitively expensive for me. I was wondering if anyone has ever repaired this on there own before. If you have I was wondering if someone could give me a fairly detailed step by step explanation on how to do it. I am pretty handy and have done some patching, but I have never done this type of job before, and I would like some directions before I cut it open. Thanks!

ohalloran is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-28-2017   #2

Poundtown, Wokastan
Paddling Since: 420
I so hate floors. Each repair is a one off and deserves its own special procedure. You might start by posting up some pics of the damage. That would get some better ideas from the gallery. Below is a link that gives you a taste of what's to come.

I-Beam | Goodwater Boat Works

Check the custom fab tab here

http://www.raftrepair.com/gallery.php

You will need a good climate controlled environment with a big flat floor.

Post up your pics of the damage!

Good Luck
Old 07-02-2017   #3
Sponsoring Vendors

Paddling Since: 1994
Problem is, with 3 blown i beams the rest are likely to blow even if you fix the 3. Id lean towards retro fitting with a cheaper floor. I have put RMR floors in sotars with good results and they are close to half the price of a new sotar floor. If you are handy it wouldnt be that bad to retrofit yourself. Certainly faster than the i beam repair that is likely to have marginal results and have other beams blow even if you do a good job.

FWIW, If you brought it to the shop I would do everything I could to steer you towards a new floor.
zbaird is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-02-2017   #4

Albuquerque, New Mexico
Paddling Since: 2016