Hydro dynamics. A discussion about rocker. - Mountain Buzz

Old 06-01-2015   #1

Helena, Montana
Paddling Since: 2013
Hydro dynamics. A discussion about rocker.

Let me premise this discussion by stating that I am an amateur. So my impressions and experiences are of an amateur nature.
I do not want to turn this into a brand / model discussion so I’ll keep it to the design.

So I had the chance to demo two different boats last weekend. They were both very similar in tube size and diameter but one boat had a straight (flat) section on the bottom of the tubes and the other had continuous rocker. I rowed the continuous rocker the most. It seemed like the boats with a flat bottom were able to pick a line and run the big rapids with little to no effort to stay on the line they had picked. (but they were all more experienced boaters). My rockered tubes seemed to drift out of the line I picked and I had to work hard to keep it on the line I had picked (which means I had to row backward in the rapid which I didn’t want to do) . To make matters worse, when the boat would drift off line it seemed to drift toward holes and hazard in the rapids adding panic to my work. It almost seemed like I was magnetically drawn to hazards in the rapids.
Are these the views of an amateur that simply doesn’t know how to row or is there something to my impressions here? It seems like the more advanced boats have the continuous rocker but they were much more work. Or maybe there is an advantage to the rocker that I didn’t pick up. Thanks for any help.

FatGuynaLitlBoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-01-2015   #2

Belgrade, Montana
Paddling Since: 1991
Interesting observations. I think they're fairly accurate and that the pro is also the con (depends on the intended use, situation and experience).