Help with knot info - Mountain Buzz

Old 02-28-2017   #1

San JOse, California
Help with knot info

Hi, I'm a noob here, a writer in search of some help for a mystery I'm working on, set in the Grand Canyon.

I need some techy help regarding ropes and knots and mooring a raft.
I don't know much about river rafting, save having been a passenger on a motorized trip through the GC. That, plus a lot of googling, has educated me to some extent on the techy side, but not enough to answer my questions.

So, if anyone is still with me, here is the setup for the problematic scene, followed by my question. (I apologize for the long-winded description—trying to give enough info and hopefully not TMI)

Setup: a private rafting party of six, on a motorized raft about 14 feet, stops for a brief time and anchors to a cliff face at the river. The anchorage is a small outcrop from the cliff, think the size of a fire hydrant (size could be bigger or smaller if need be).

Everybody is staying on the raft.
The water is fairly calm, light currents.
The boatman loops the bowline around the outcrop and secures it with a knot.

The rafters go about their business. And then something alarming occurs, and they panic. In their rush to get away from the area, one of them flips the bowlineline up and down—trying to dislodge it from the outcrop. That is, doesn't follow the standard procedure (whatever that would be) to untie and retrieve the bowline.
Finally, the flipping does dislodge the bowline.
However, the bowline is still in a loop and it catches on a nubbin of rock on the outcrop. Now the panicked rafter yanks on the line—and that tightens the loop down to the nubbin, where the knot catches (and picks up a pebble).
So, the final bowline loop is quite small, with the pebble embedded in the knot.

My question: is this scenario possible? And if so, what kind of a knot would be used? A bowline hitch?

Light is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-28-2017   #2