GPS Revisited - Mountain Buzz

Old 05-25-2015   #1

Niwot, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2005
GPS Revisited

I know this subject has been discussed before but with the fact that this technology changes so rapidly, I was wondering if anyone can provide some recent feedback on a good unit that:

1) provides two way emergency communication
2) provides mapping/waypoint navigation (able to upload know waypoints for mapped rivers)
3) is water resistant

Any other considerations I should consider?

I was looking at the Delome inreach explorer but would like to hear from folks that have used these devices on the river.

Advertisement

Old 05-25-2015   #2

Tigard, Oregon
Paddling Since: 1995
I have been using the garmin oregon 550 on rivers for 6 years now. No 2-way emergency communications, but uploading waypoints is easy and I have jumped in the river with it on my PFD may times without incident. I use ExpertGPS - GPS Mapping Software for Garmin, Magellan, Lowrance, Eagle GPS to map out camps and river miles then upload it to the GPS. I like Expert GPS more than the Garmin software. I was playing around with the updated Oregon 650 last week and noticed the touch screen was better, they added a Qwerty keyboard and the layout was a little nicer than my unit.
TriBri1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2015   #3

Niwot, Colorado
Anyone else want to chime in on this now that we are mid-stream (pun ntended) in the river running season?
Advertisement

Old 07-09-2015   #4
Beginner

Eastern Slope, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1980
I have an InReach Explorer and love it. I rarely use the compass, map, and GPS features, as it's mostly a phone to me, but the 2 way texting works well. The website and software are a bit clunky, and texing/emailing are a bit slow with the on-screen keyboard, but I've had reliable communication from some pretty far flung places with the Explorer. Just yesterday our cell tower was out and it was useful around the house!