FISHING from a raft? which frames? - Mountain Buzz

Old 03-18-2012   #1

colorado, Carbondale, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2012
FISHING from a raft? which frames?

I am really new to fishing out of a raft. However, I am planning on buying one very soon for fishing and some moderate whitewater and overnighters.

There is so many options out there today it is overwhelming to a newbie like me. While I am a veteran fly fisherman, I know nothing about fishing frames and the like. What brand is the best bang for the buck? Are the top dollar frames REALLY that much better than the cheaper ones? Do you really need those expensive casting platforms they sell or will the raft floor of a self bailer be enough? $150 for a stripping basket! damn... do I need that? or is it pretty usefull? I think you get the jest here folks. thanks for looking and THANKS SO MUCH for any comments cheers

p.s. Oh getting a 14' foot raft BTW.

beetle is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-19-2012   #2

You know what they say about boats….doesn’t really matter if they have a motor or not.

Some of your decisions depend on if you are trailering or not. If not, keeping it simple and light is better. NRS frames are pretty nice in that regard, plus being modular very easy to change around for fishing—whitewater—multiday setups. The rest is just how fancy/comfortable you want to get…anchor system, floors, lean bars etc. Nice but add weight and complexity to the system. If you have a good trailer with a winch adding all the nice-ities isn’t as big a deal.