Dry box brackets - Mountain Buzz

Old 02-25-2017   #1

Golden, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2009
Dry box brackets

I'm currently building out my setup around a 14' Avon and looking at used dry boxes. I've seen them with brackets welded in different places to hang off the frame: typically on the front and back but sometimes on the port and starboard sides instead. Can anyone educate me why one method would be preferred over the other?

Sent from my iPhone using Mountain Buzz

jmroadman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-25-2017   #2

Henderson, Nevada
Paddling Since: 2007
I'm no expert on dry boxes as I don't use one on my rig, I have 2 drop bags instead. The only reason I can think of to put the tabs on the sides of the box would be for a frame with double side rails. Where the tabs could rest on the inner side rail. The tabs on the side would have to be huge to clear the tubes and rest on the rails of a single rail frame.
Rick A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2017   #3

Bayfield, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1980
The coolest way that I've seen to attach a drybox lately is a drawlatch like what is used to close the box itself. Totally strapless. A couple of folks in the PNW are building them this way. Haven't touched one but strapless... how cool is that?
jamesthomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-26-2017   #4

Sandy, Utah
Paddling Since: 1997
My rafting buddy has Recretec frames on all his boats (2 rafts, 2 cats). All of his frames have the latch in dry boxes. He had them before I met him, which was 16 years ago, so they are not something new. They work really well. Drop the boxes in and secure the latch. No straps needed. His stuff has taken a beating over the years & the latches still work great. Recretec still makes the frames & boxes.

https://recretec.com/products/61/delux-cargo-frame
https://recretec.com/products/builder