DropStitch Floor in Rocky Mountain Rafts - Mountain Buzz

Old 08-18-2014   #1

Ogden, Utah
Paddling Since: 2006
DropStitch Floor in Rocky Mountain Rafts

I am looking to purchase a new raft that will be my jack of all trades boat. It will be doing multi day trips, paddle trips and fishing trips. Due to my budget it looks like I am going for a 14 ft Tributary or Rocky Mountain Raft. I have read great things so far about RMR rafts and Tribs. At this point I am leaning towards the RMR. The only downside I have read so far about RMR's is that fact that are made overseas and they are difficult to roll and store. It looks like the 2014 RMR boats now have the drop stitch floor instead of the I-beam floor. I have only rowed boats with the I-beam and I have no experience with the drop stitch. I am hoping someone hear has some personal experience with drop stitch floors and can give me some insight into some pro's and con's. I would also appreciate any inputs or opinions about RMR's?

Thank you!

BigJed is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-18-2014   #2
Paddling in to the Future

Boise, Idaho
Paddling Since: 2000
Tributary boats are built in China.. so both are built overseas. I saw a RMR boat on the Salmon this weekend (Sunbeam run) with a drop stitch floor. It did great on that super shallow stretch where other boats (14' NRS's that I saw guides running) were getting hung up. it coasted over most all those shallow spots no problem. I saw that as a benefit. They were running as a paddle crew, so I can't speak to its handling in any other way. but it looked really good and i was impressed.
PhilipJFry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2014   #3
Sponsoring Vendors

Wheat Ridge, Colorado
RMR rafts are available with a standard floor or for a $300 upgrade you can get the drop stitch. They have only offered the drop stitch this year, but maybe some of the folks with Maravias will chime in.