cold holds warm heart - Mountain Buzz

Old 4 Weeks Ago   #1

cold holds warm heart

Hi all, I'm new to mountain buzz, excited to be here.
I'll be on a 16 day trip paddling the grand canyon this winter and I am looking for the best gloves and socks/shoe option for a person who gets super cold hands and feet (heard of reynauds???!!!) Might as well include head ware as well...any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks, Katie

elizabeth1976 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 4 Weeks Ago   #2

Nosebleed, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1977
Kokatat dry suit with integrated goretex feet and oversized o-ring watertight gloves—see Kokatat website. Oversized water shoe that will fit over the dry suit socks with thick wool socks next to your skin. Head gear—I’d bring a few smart wool beanies so you always have a dry one.
funrivers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4 Weeks Ago   #3

Kalispell, Montana
Paddling Since: 1997
Hey Katie,
My wifey has reynaud's. It's tough, I have to be more conscious of cold/wet weather for her than I would for myself.
  • Keep your core warm. The Kokatat drysuit is going to be great for that--not just to have a seal to keep your hands/feet dry. Consider a battery-powered vest for some more core warmth
  • Along with keeping your core warm, make sure you eat right. Simple sugars don't fuel your metabolism. Eat a great breakfast, and don't spare the protein/fats.
  • x-1,000,000 on the Kokatat suit with integrated booties. Goretex socks restrict your circulation far less than ankle gaskets, and allow you to wear looser shoes/boots. Definitely wear some wool socks. Merino is awesome (but you maybe already knew that)
  • Maybe keep a thermos of warm tea in the boat; if you get chilled, you can get it right into your body..or hold that cup of hot tea to warm your hands.