CO Raft Purchase Advice - Mountain Buzz

Old 04-29-2017   #1

Fort Collins, Colorado
CO Raft Purchase Advice

Hello MB Community-

Seeking some advice, or affirmation, on raft choice as a Colorado resident.

I'm new to purchasing, but have grown up rafting and spent the last few years renting setups.

I grew up paddle rafting the Deschutes with my family. I've guided paddle boats on the Clark Fork in Montana. I've sticked oar boats on the John Day, Green River/Desolation canyon and Upper Colorado the last few years. All of my oar boat experience has been renting. I ran an 18' NRS on the Green, rented 16' boats for John Day and Upper C. I lived 5 minutes from the White Salmon river in Washington and spent a small time of my life whitewater kayaking around there.

Requirements:

- Run rivers within a 4 hour drive of Denver
- Haul gear and up to 4 or 5 other passengers on 3 day/2 night trips
- Foreseeably, running up to class IV with the group I would float with
- Will need to roll the boat up for storage [don't have space for partial inflation/trailer; do have room for inside/climate control storage]
- Will likely run 4-6 trips per season
- Don't foresee running anything setup as a paddle boat

Concerns:

- I'm concerned a 14' boat will be too small for my gear/human count
- I'm concerned of being limited by a 16' boat due to size here in CO in low water

What does the community think?

This is my first boat purchase. Ideally, I'm looking for a used setup - but coming into season, those are harder to find. I missed a great deal on an AIRE 156R in Durango fully outfitted for $4000. I've seen some decent deals on 14' Hysides/AIREs, but I'm concerned about size.

Also considering an Otter 150 as a happy medium, but new purchase price is high and I'm concerned about total investment by the time it is outfitted.