Clothes for rafting - Mountain Buzz

Old 03-09-2006   #1

Clothes for rafting

Hope this is the right forum to ask this question.

I'm somewhat new to rafting, and still trying to dial in the clothes I need. Last May/June I did the Middle Fork of the Salmon, and wore a borrowed drysuit the whole time (it was cold!). I would like to buy a drysuit, but damn they are expensive, and not terribly versatile if it is warmer. I do, however, hate being cold, and as I am mostly a raft passenger at this point, getting cold can happen easily in Colorado rivers.

So, what are my alternatives? Dry tops are a lot cheaper, but what would I wear on the bottoms? Would a dry top and farmer john wetsuit be a good combo? Other suggestions? Do I just suck it up and buy the drysuit too? I do own a shortsleeve splash top I got really cheap, but that's it (aside from gloves and booties).

Thanks in advance. (Oh, if there are better places to ask, or to look for gear, let me know that too).

sandbagger is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-09-2006   #2

rafting clothes

think of dry pants, and a high quality splash top with good polypro long underwear (capilene by patagonia is great). A cheaper way is rain pants and top with the same layer underneath. Forget wet suits--they are designed to be under water. add a fiber pyle or wool ski hat to keep your head warm. Some booties or tennis shoes with gore-tex socks. The biggest thing is to end evaporative cooling.[/u]
nmdice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2006   #3

but your list seems entirely predicated on just getting splashed and not swimming... That doesn't seem to jive with my (albeit limited) experience... If I was wearing what you describe when I got dumped in the middle fork, I would have been an ice cube.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-09-2006   #4

Duhrango
Don't get dumped
Old 03-09-2006   #5