Another "Which Raft Should I Get" Post - Mountain Buzz

Old 05-13-2017   #1

Evergreen, Colorado
Another "Which Raft Should I Get" Post

Hello boat people!
For my first post, I will ask the classic question: which raft should I buy?

I am not an expert oarsman by any means, but I am looking to change that. My experience consists of only 2 grand canyon trips (as a passenger), brown's canyon (paddle team passenger), a few private paddle trips down the Gallatin (with me at the helm), the Smith in canoes, and rowing drift boats in low consequence water (Madison, Yellowstone, etc).

I want to buy a new raft that I can use mostly as a 2/3 man fly fishing rig 65% of the time for day trips in MT/WY/CO, and 35% as an oar rig that I can eventually learn to row through class V whitewater on day, weekend, or longer multi-day trips (UT/ID/MT). I know that there is no 'silver bullet' boat, but I'm sure that's what it must sound like I am looking for.

I've read so many reviews and forums online it's overwhelming, but I am happy to rely on the opinions of more experienced boaters. I want 'made in America' but not if it's over $6k. That said, I think I am focused on Aire for their outstanding warranty, affordability, and positive reviews. However, I am open to all suggestions and advice!

Focusing on the Aire lineup, it would seem that the 136DD, SDP, 130D, or even the 143D are all good choices. But I am naive and do not have experience with the subtleties these boats!

I am interested in maximizing maneuverability for lower flow rivers (~500 cfs?) as an oar/rowing rig. Alternatively, it seems that most boats can handle big water with the right setup and crew if needed.