Aire 156R or NRS E-160 - Mountain Buzz

Old 2 Weeks Ago   #1

Aire 156R or NRS E-160

I am new to rafting, but love it. I am going to buy a boat and build it out over the winter. I have a big family. I have two teenage sons that will likely have to ride their own raft or kayak. But I want at least one dedicated oar boat to haul gear, my wife, and the two younger kids on multi-day trips. I am considering a Aire 156R or NRS E-160. I took an NRS E-160 down Westwater last weekend and really liked it. I plan to spend most of my time on the Colorado, Green, and San Juan.

Thoughts for a newbie?

jreutzel is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 2 Weeks Ago   #2
Sponsoring Vendors

Paddling Since: 1994
You plan on running silty rivers. Unless you are going to clean the zippers, buy the NRS. The 160 is also a bigger boat and you'll want that with a big family.
Old 2 Weeks Ago   #3

Hampden, Massachusetts
Paddling Since: 1999
Print out the specs for each boat for a side by side comparison. You really can’t go wrong with either. Going brand new?!!!!

The 156R is lower cost and more color options, good multi use boat. I rented a 156R for a week, handled great for me and the dimensions felt right. Wish I owned one. Made in USA. Get the 156R with the sealed floor pocket for your silty rivers. Don’t get forest green or other dark color, it gets really hot in the sun.

The E-160 is a classic 16 footer, a wide and stable gear pig. Probably can carry more beer than the 156R. I have never rowed an E-160 but I have touched two or three. I have nothing bad to say. NRS has great customer service to boot!
FlyingDutchman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 2 Weeks Ago   #4

Hampden, Massachusetts
Paddling Since: 1999
After reading zbaird’s post regarding zippers , the NRS probably makes a little more sense
FlyingDutchman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2 Weeks Ago   #5

Kalispell, Montana
Paddling Since: 1997