General Idaho Salmon River Rafting Info? - Mountain Buzz

Go Back   Mountain Buzz > Whitewater Boating > Whitewater Rafting > Rafting | Trip Planner

Old 1 Week Ago   #1

No. Ogden, Utah
Paddling Since: 2009
General Idaho Salmon River Rafting Info?

Hi folks,

I hate making posts in true newb fashion asking a question that has probably been answered a hundred times, but there are countless very specific threads about this or that and enough searching is enough. If you know the exact posts that have this info please link me to it below. Sorry.

The questions:

I have 2 multi day trips on the Gates of Lodore, and one lap day through the Snake River above Alpine WY. That's the extent of my experience running my own oar boat (both Lodore trips class V's), and riding along on the Snake. I'm a novice with some much needed improvements to my raft/new raft before I take on anything more serious or lengthy... that said...

There's this river system that I've heard about, up in Idaho, called the Salmon River. Not sure if anyone here has heard of it (heavy sarcasm), but the few folks I've asked about it have given basically no info on it. Hopefully you can help.

Things I know about it:

1. I've traveled through Stanley and seen the headwaters, it's beautiful.
2. It has a Middle Fork, a South Fork (and possibly other forks?).
3. You need a permit and they're "harder to get" than the Green River.
4. There is a good guide book for the river, as any river would have.
5. It's dangerous and remote, like many rivers.

That's it!

What I'm asking is: