Used Hyside 16' for 2,250? - Mountain Buzz

Old 11-28-2017   #1

Provo, Utah
Used Hyside 16' for 2,250?

I saw an add near me (from a rafting company in Moab Utah) list a 16' Hyside for 2,250. It seems to be in pretty decent shape to me. Is that a good deal? I am looking for a first raft (though I have extensive experience in IK's) and was mainly looking at 12' rafts such as the Hyside max 12 and Aire Puma/Super Puma. I was originally planning on buying a new raft but this add intrigues me.

https://www.ksl.com/classifieds/listing/50435050

djolsen13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-29-2017   #2

Wheat Ridge, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1995
Depending on the age and wear on the boat that could be a great deal. A couple of thoughts:

1) Make sure you carefully inspect the boat for leaks and wear & have them inflate it and make sure none of the baffles are blown before buying,
2) Have them remove or paint over the outfitter logo before you receive the boat.

Good luck,

-AH
Nothing in the world is more yielding and gentle than water. Yet it has no equal for conquering the resistant and tough. The flexible can overcome the unbending; the soft can overcome the hard. - Lao Tse
Andy H. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2017   #3

Provo, Utah
It’s a 2013, and it does look like it’s been used but it doesn’t look too bad either. Thanks for the advice!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-29-2017   #4

Provo, Utah
Also, Is that too big of a raft to paddle for 4 people? I would be mainly using it for multi-day trips for 2-4 people (we pack super light though) and I really do not want to invest in a big frame and oar set. Any thoughts would be appreciated!
Old 11-29-2017   #5

thornton, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1969
Go for it!!!