Streamtech Steelhead & Frame Review - Mountain Buzz

Old 3 Weeks Ago   #1

Billings, Montana
Paddling Since: 2000
Streamtech Steelhead & Frame Review

I have seen some previous posts about Streamtech boats over the years, some negative and some positive. I do not work for anyone or am affiliated with anyone in the business.

I'm the kind of guy that over analyses everything before I spend a lot of money and am willing to do a lot of research before I make a final decision. I am not a rafting expert and am far from as experienced as a lot of you buzzards.

The STEELHEAD boat made by Maravia for Link Jackson at Streamtech.
-14'6" but with 21" tubes instead of 20", Diminished to 18" instead of 16" on the New Wave 3, Diablo, Willy Willy and the Zephyr. Less Diminished tubes being a little more supportive for the weight on the rear tube? I would think it's probably more supportive.
-84" outside width with instead of around 80" on the Maravia versions. More stability and better load carrying capability? I would think so.
-The drop stitch floor that all Maravias get plus Streamtech boats come Standard with Urethane on the Floor.
-All of the size benefits of the 15' raft in a 14'6" raft. When I saw the specs on this boat I thought it fit the bill perfect.

My last boat I custom built the frame and it was great. I used NuRail fittings and 1 1/4" Aluminum pipe. I spent a lot of time researching before and during building the frame. I decided this time that I wouldn't really be saving much money in the long run and would have spent a great deal of time again building another aluminum frame. I didn't want the run of the mill NRS fittings, bolts, nuts and clips to deal with and an anchor system that wasn't great.

-The integrated anchor system inside the tubing is nice.
-The Shoal Cut Square Top oars, the premium seats, anchor system and everything included didn't seem to be much different than sourcing everything myself.