Steering a Paddle Raft - Mountain Buzz

Old 08-01-2012   #1

Salt Lake City, Utah
Paddling Since: 2008
Steering a Paddle Raft

Ok, I've been rafting for three years but only on an oar rig. We are going down the Snake between Hoback and Alpine and I'm curious if I should run a paddle raft instead. I've canoed rivers so I understand the "rudder down" concept, but haven't had anybody paddle in front of me before. This stretch seems like the perfect learning ground. Any tips for learning how to run a paddle raft? I will be in a 14 foot self bailer instead of my 18 foot cat. I have the capability of running as either an oar rig or with paddles.

tanderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-01-2012   #2

Silverthorne, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2001
run it as a stern mount paddle assisted rig, or just a paddle assisted oar boat.
DoubleYouEss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012   #3
Dipshit with the most.

Bellevue, Idaho
Paddling Since: 1991
Quote:
Originally Posted by tanderson View Post
Ok, I've been rafting for three years but only on an oar rig. We are going down the Snake between Hoback and Alpine and I'm curious if I should run a paddle raft instead. I've canoed rivers so I understand the "rudder down" concept, but haven't had anybody paddle in front of me before. This stretch seems like the perfect learning ground. Any tips for learning how to run a paddle raft? I will be in a 14 foot self bailer instead of my 18 foot cat. I have the capability of running as either an oar rig or with paddles.
I have paddle boated for 22 years and am not sure what a rudder down concept is.

Dress warm. Go big. When in doubt scream "all forward hard" and hold on.
carvedog is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-01-2012   #4

Golden, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2007