Ruby this weekend. - Mountain Buzz

Old 06-19-2015   #1

New Castle, Colorado
Ruby this weekend.

So I realize I'm probably beating a dead horse, and I apologize for that, but I want to make sure I'm doing things safely.

I'm putting on Ruby/Horsethief this weekend, camping at BR 8. The gauge right now is at 29,300. My "group" consists of my 12 ft Maravia, and a hyside IK. I am still a fairly novice boater, and the most experienced of the group. I've ran Ruby twice at about half the level, and just finished a week long guide school in Durango.

What should I expect at these levels? Is it "just" fast moving flat water? My current plan is to have the IKer jump on my boat through Black Rocks as I imagine that will be the worst part.

Sorry if I'm asking a repeated question. I am fairly confident on the oars after my guide class, but having never done Ruby at this level want to make sure I'm being reasonable and keep my passengers safe. Thanks!

JPG87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-19-2015   #2
The Russian

SLC, Utah
Paddling Since: 2005
I can understand your level of excitement and worry. I've done Ruby a couple of times, but never at this level yet. But knowing the river and obstacles, what you will find are big whirlpools and eddy lines around Black Rocks. Those are sometimes nastier than rapids because they are unpredictable and not much can be done once a whirlpool will grab you and sink your boat.

When you are going to go through Black Rocks, make sure you stay on the sticks and try to keep in the current to avoid the eddy lines. Practice rescue swimming in the calm water before black rocks and throw rope technique. Have a serious discussion with your passengers about river safety, tighten those life jackets (they save lives). I tell my groups to tighten until you can't breathe, especially the lower strap. I check everyone in my group usually myself by yanking on the straps, especially kids.

Good luck and be safe out there!