River iPhone gps app - Mountain Buzz

Old 5 Days Ago   #1

River iPhone gps app

So I’m new to technology but I’m stoked. I have an iPhone and I’m wanting to use it to pre plug in UTM coord. Of big rapids on rivers. What app do u recommend for offline river use?

wharf-rat is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 5 Days Ago   #2

Denver, Colorado
Can use Topo Maps, red background, looks like a folded topo map with a blue pin on it

It is all the USGS 7.5 minute quadrangles for the US.
You must download the quads you need prior to needing them unless you've got cell. I download the hi-res ones and it will track your movement in airplane mode.

You can also buy onX hunt, it tracks you and has satellite images and lots of info, including land owners names, boundaries and lots more info. Also needs you to download a map prior to going, you can set the area you want to save and save a bunch of them prior. It also tracks your position in airplane mode, but is much more expensive.
If you can't find Topo, send me a message and a phone number and I'll text you a screen shot of the app.
jonseim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1 Day Ago   #3

Moab / Salida / Molokai, Colorado / Hawaii
Paddling Since: 1985
I use IBoating and import USGS maps. Good on rivers and the ocean. Lots of experience with that one and its great. Costs $20 but well worth it and then the maps are free.
1mauisurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 1 Day Ago   #4

steamboat springs, Colorado
i have been really happy with gaia gps

there's both a free and paid version. i use it (paid version) year-round on an old iphone 5s dedicated for navigation and photos.

you'll need to download maps of the area you'll be navigating in advance, but after that's done you can switch to airplane mode and use the app.

you can import GPX files. rivermaps provides them (free) for some of the major western rivers here. they're a nice addition to a hard-copy rivermap.