raft-to-kayak ratio for raft-support MF salmon - Mountain Buzz

Go Back   Mountain Buzz > Whitewater Boating > Whitewater Rafting

Old 04-23-2009   #1

raft-to-kayak ratio for raft-support MF salmon

Hey im planning a trip to MF salmon on a private permit, and its looking to be 15-18 people (including the people potentially rafting). How many rafts should we take for a comfortable 6-night trip? (kayakers will be in playboats; also have to carry enough alcohol) I have no experience with raft support.

Thanks,
Joe

meatsauce123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-23-2009   #2

at my house, Montana
Paddling Since: 2020
Quote:
Originally Posted by meatsauce123 View Post
Hey im planning a trip to MF salmon on a private permit, and its looking to be 15-18 people (including the people potentially rafting). How many rafts should we take for a comfortable 6-night trip? (kayakers will be in playboats; also have to carry enough alcohol) I have no experience with raft support.

Thanks,
Joe
In my raft, carrying gear for 2 people solo is easy, so I think if kayakers carried their personal drybag, and the rafts carried their tents, group gear was spread out among rafts, it would be easy to support 4 people besides myself on my 14' boat. Kayakers would not get big camp chairs in this scenario. If the kayakers weren't going to carry any of their personal gear, 2-3 people (in addition to rower) is more realistic. If you have bigger rafts, more people per boat is realistic. It really depends on how minimialist you are going to go. The more minimalist, the fewer rafters you need. The quantity (and type) of alcohol is important, it can be like a whole additional person if it's all beer.
Old 04-23-2009   #3

Glenwood Springs, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2002
Yeah, I like one raft supporting the captain and 2 kayakers/passengers as a good goal for the ratio.