Raft Question re bumps on the bottom of my Vanguard - Mountain Buzz

Go Back   Mountain Buzz > Whitewater Boating > Whitewater Rafting

Old 06-11-2007   #1

Psychotherapist
Raft Question re bumps on the bottom of my Vanguard

Hi,

I don't know much about boats as I am a newbie owner. I have a new Vanguard with these little bumps all over the bottom. I am being told by Vanguard that they are the result of a "chemical reaction" and only a cosmetic issue. It would seem to me that having a rough bottom (these bumps cover about 30-40% of my bottom) could be a problem, but I don't really know.

Here is a pic, any feedback would be appreciated.

VanMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-11-2007   #2

Psychotherapist
Bump re the bumps.

No opinions? I've looked at 3 different Vanguards and none of them have these bumps.

Any thoughts would be great.
Old 06-11-2007   #3
&d

gunnison, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1998
ive got a 15 year old sotar (we think its a sotar, clearly it was one of the first self-bailers) and it has texture much like that .. i don't mean to scare you, but my raft is the biggest POS that anyone is still floating anywhere.. ill take that statement to the playground I dont know how clearly you can see the thread in the hypalon on any given raft, i know i dont see that on any -new- raft ././ i take it as a sign of "you need more pvc paint on this thing badly." how well does it hold air?
&d is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-11-2007   #4

Summit, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2005
I would have to say to try and get Vanguard to replace it! It may be cosmetic but remind them that if you bought a car and the paint started to buble or peel they should fix it! Cosmetics has nothing to do with rafting but it still feels nice to look good as you go down the river!
ecarlson972 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2007   #5

Psychotherapist
Quote:
Originally Posted by ecarlson972 View Post