Quick question on raft support! Thanks! - Mountain Buzz

Old 01-02-2019   #1

Spokane, Washington
Paddling Since: 2000
Quick question on raft support! Thanks!

Newbie here! Just bought a 143D with NRS frame. Looking at trailers and most likely will make a custom out of a C&B 6.5'x12' high wall utility trailer to resemble something like the Sawtooth jobbies. (I don't want to spend that much from them at this time)
My question is; can I trailer the raft with only the tubes being supported (two 20"X12' supports on top of the rail system I would fab) and not the floor? I figured with gear and coolers positioned underneath I could support it with gear alone, however, not sure if I should do more for support. Thanks for your time and knowledge to share!

BananaBoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-03-2019   #2

lafayette or Grand Lake, CO., Colorado
Paddling Since: 1961
Quick answer, Yes. Just do not load heavy gear on the boat's floor.
Old 01-03-2019   #3

Moab / Salida / Molokai, Colorado / Hawaii
Paddling Since: 1985
I have never been a fan of traveling more than short / day trip distances with a boat fully loaded. I never load my boat for a multi day or long drive. I just dont love it. Many people do it and seem to be ok. It does not take much to support an empty boat.
1mauisurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-03-2019   #4

Kalispell, Montana
Paddling Since: 1997
Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
Quick answer, Yes. Just do not load heavy gear on the boat's floor.
^^^
This.

Yes, I do it all the time. I have a lightweight (for a car hauler) trailer that is 6.5' wide at the siderails. I bolt 2x12's to the top of each rail, and carry my 156R or 13.0Trib on the board rails.

Coolers and dryboxes (and bikes, ammo cans, kayaks, oars, etc) go under the rafts on the floor of the trailer.