Private boater instruction - Mountain Buzz

Old 05-30-2017   #1

Littleton, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2009
Private boater instruction

I'm looking for recommendations for private boating classes in Colorado. My interest will mainly be pontooning rivers for flyfishing, but I want broad training to be safe. I've seen the guide courses, but I have a full time job and can't commit 4-6 full weeks for this. I'm a novice whitewater boater right now, but I have extensive ocean and bay power boating experience. While not much transfers, I am comfortable on the water.

I'd really appreciate any leads or suggestions. I'm not looking to do this on the cheap; I'll pay for good training.

DoubleTap is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-30-2017   #2

Never heard of a class to learn how to drive a raft. But, I am sure someone here would be glad to take your money to let you tag along and "instruct" you!!
spencerhenry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2017   #3

Ridgway, Colorado
My river training began with a NOLS course in the early 90's.
I couldn't recommend it highly enough. From basic, reading the water skills, boat rigging, to WW rescue, it provided me with a solid platform that I base off of today.
rtsideup is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-30-2017   #4

denver, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1998
I would probably start by calling some raft companies and ask if they would be willing to let you 'rent' a guide on your boat for a day or two. I'm sure that having a guide on your boat coaching you while you row for a day would be enough for what you seek. I also feel this would be legal as the raft company would be permitted at least for guiding whatever river you were on.